ALMOSTwordlesswednesdayfromsarcasticmoms

13 Photographs Collaged with PSE6

Eucalyptus … once

imported from Australia

replaced native trees

Click to embiggen and for others participating in Thursday Thirteen
reddivider

Although many palms

grace my neighborhood, so does

the Eucalyptus …

Southern California, USA


Thought for Today
“The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago.  The next best time is now.”  Chinese Proverb
My Avatar

I'm a happily retired teacher. Originally blogging as storyteller, I've changed my avatar early in 2010 to reflect my recent growing interest in photography. You might recognize me from one of my three original Blogger-based sites:

Small Reflections

Sacred Ruminations

Blog Rolls, Bling and Blurbs

If you don't, click to learn more about me.

Welcome to my first WordPress site. I hope you'll look around, leave me a comment or two, and check back as often as time permits.

Hugs and blessings,
happily retired gal
(formerly known as storyteller)

1st Blogoversary celebratory post

Copyright

All words, images, and art on this site (unless otherwise noted) belong to storyteller, a most Happily Retired Gal. Please ask for written permission before using anything here. Thanks ;--)

Archives

Looking for something?

6th Blog Blast for Peace

Won't you join us?

6th Blog Blast for Peace November 5, 2009

Did You Know?

If you don't see Camera Critters here on the weekend, check out Small Reflections ;-)

Camera Critters 1st Anniversary

Thanks for sharing the photos. This is my first time to see a Eucalyptus trees 🙂

Happy WW!

that is very cool – I am goin to show my brother this one – (he’s an arborist)

This is beautiful. I would love to see it growing. Only see the dried variety here.

Australia has thousands of them. Eucalyptus trees are high in alcohol. Hence every summer, one butt of live cigarette thrown into an even small pile of dried eucalyptus leaves can set the nation into conflagration especially aided with high, four strong winds.

Great posts here.

Great shots of the eucalyptus. I love the way the bark looks.

Great shots….but is a WW or TT??? lol….Happy WW from me:)

Eucalypts are such wonderful dye plant and well worth having aroud.

We felt right at home in San Diego with all the gum trees around. I always say the leaves are unremarkable but the bark is fascinating.

I’ve never seen a eucalyptus–what a strange looking trunk it has!

The everglades has melaleuca trees that have bark like that. They are extreamly envasive and are taking over. Cool collage!

Very neat collection we have a lot of Eucalypts out here in Cali and I would have never thought of this very creative!
http://aguthrieimages.wordpress.com/2009/05/12/wordless-watery-wednesday-more-from-descanso/

These are huge trees. I wonder how old the trees are. Lovely collage.

I like trees even better than flowers.

You have created another wonderful collage. I love those huge trees.

I’ve never seen eucalyptus before – the bark is so interesting! Happy Thursday!

Thursday 13 – edition 7
101 Things About Me

Oh, wow. I have never see eucalyptus. I’m sucking on a cough drop and inhaling eucalyptus scent as I read your post. How multi-sensory. Happy TT! You always have the most interesting blogs. Thanks.

Beautiful collage !

The pictures are not eucalypts but Melaleuca (common name: Paperbark)

Both are Australian natives.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Melaleuca

Eucalypts don’t have alcohol so much as Eucalyptus oil.

The oil has many uses including: decongestant, cleaning agent and fragrance. The oil is quite flammable and a contributing factor in southern Australian bushfires.

Not so great in Cal. with their fire sistuation. either.


Leave a Reply

