In my Digital Media Arts class I’ve learned to create and use templates with Photoshop Elements … and here is my first attempt.  Each lettered space is a different layer on which to insert photos.  Our instructor is a Scrapbooker and wanted us to use a 12 by 24 inch format to create two book pages together.  I’m not sure I’ll continue this practice for blogging purposes … but I see why she likes it.

Using this template in last night’s class, I entered ten photos of Molly and Ms. Kitty … used the Control G (or ‘group’ command) to link each photo to the appropriate layer … added stroke outlines (blue for Molly and red for Ms Kitty) … shadows … and bevels to each … then used one photo with the opacity lowered as a background.

I separated the left and right pages using the cropping tool,

In order to make this a T-13, this morning I repeated last night’s steps to add 3 additional photos … below.  I do love the Control G command because it doesn’t require me to crop photos and finesse them into the correct spot.  I suspect that with practice (and some experimentation) I’ll figure out simple ways to combine these new skills with ones I’ve mastered previously … and discover new techniques of my own.

Click to embiggen for better viewing
and for others participating in Thursday Thirteen


Thought for Today
“What we want is to see the child in pursuit of knowledge, and not knowledge in pursuit of the child.’ “ George Bernard Shaw
